Vegan Garbage Pizza

Pizza is one of the most popular foods on the planet. You can put just about anything on a pie. Since I am vegan, I obviously abstain from eating meat and cheese filled pies. So what do vegans put on pizzas? Everything else!!

The kiddo and I have a favorite combo which is mushrooms, onions and olives. That is it. That is our go to.  Still, once in awhile is nice to shake things up a bit. That is what we have done here. This pizza was definitely fancier than normal, but cost about the same because I was fortunate enough to get presliced mushrooms, onions and tricolor peppers for a little over a buck a package. I love expiration sale coupons in the produce section. It makes eating vegan so much easier and cost effective.

Now onto the pizza!

It is important to note that I got my dough recipe from The Vegan Zombie:

Vegan Zombie Pizza Roll/Dough

 

 

Vegan Garbage Pizza

1 Vegan Zombie Homemade Crust, linked above

4oz mushrooms, diced fine

3 oz onions, diced fine

3-4 oz of sliced salad olives

1 whole bell pepper, I used a presliced pack so I got 4 colors, but used about a pepper’s worth

1/4-1/2 red onion, diced fine

1 1/2 c. marinara or pizza sauce

garlic powder

nutritional yeast

Cashew Cheese, recipe to follow

 

Start off by watching the video and making the pizza crust. It is super simple and takes maybe 45 minutes tops, and thats with the yeast activation and rise time.

Next spread the dough out on your pizza pan. Sprinkle it with garlic and nutritional yeast to flavor the crust slightly. It honestly doesn’t need it but that is how I did it for this pizza and it was fantastic!

Add your sauce and spread til about 1/4 in from the crust edge in an even smear. Add on your veggie toppings and bake at 375F for about 20-25 mins or until the crust is golden. I like to spray my pan with a healthy dose of olive oil spray so that the crust gets that buttery crunch like a certain well known pizza chain.

This pizza crust was rave worthy. It came out light and airy, but tough enough to handle the truckload of toppings I put on my pizzas. We don’t skimp on the good stuff around here.

Leave a Reply

