Olive Cheeze Loaf Veganized

This recipe is one of my very favorites from my former life of meat and dairy debouchery. It’s salty and rich and absolutely delicious. I wish I could take credit for it but I cannot. The original recipe is right here:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/olive_cheese_br/

I used to love Pioneer Woman’s recipes. But she’s a ranchers wife and definitely not vegan. So I gave her a hand! 😉 I made it a bit different than hers because I had the kid and man with me. I don’t know about you, but I lose my brain when I have other people with me when I shop. The original recipe calls for black, as well as green olives and green onions. I used just green (forgot the other, hence the no brain thing) olives and instead of green onion I got red onion. I don’t used green onion enough to warrant buying a whole bunch of it but I will use the red in other recipes and it adds a nice color to the dish. Now on to the best bread you ever eat!

 

 

Olive Cheese Bread

 

1 loaf of vegan french bread (link to recipe below)

1 cup olives, sliced

Vegan mayonnaise

1/4 c. Onions

1/2c vegan mozzarella, shredded

 

Preheat oven to 4-450 degrees

Cut bread lengthwise. Spread mayo on as thick or thin as you like. I slather it on because the creaminess is amazing in this. Add the olives, onions and top with mozzarella.

 

Bake for 10-15 minutes, depending on how crisp you want you bread. Slice and enjoy!

I added some vegan butter and herbs to the top of the loaf.

http://www.marystestkitchen.com/perfect-vegan-french-bread/

 

Note: I use Daiya cheese because it is what’s available and affordable in my area. You may use whatever cheese you want. I actually enjoy Daiya and have figured out the key to liking it is using it in strong flavorful dishes and using the minimum amount. Vegan Zombies use it alot, or used to, and they always spiced it up alot when making things like Mac n cheese with it. So there’s some ideas to make it easier to eat if that’s your only option.

Leave a Reply

